Symposium on “Medicinal Chemistry And Drug Design”


Sponsor:          Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica (ICAS)

Co-sponsors:   Division of Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Research,

      National Health Research Institutes (NHRI)

                        Chemistry Promotion Center, NSC

Date:                March 13 (Tuesday), 2001

Venue:              Auditorium, Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica



8:20 – 8:55       Registration


9:00 – 9:30       Welcome 

                Dr. Cheng-Wen Wu, President, NHRI

                Dr. Sunney I. Chan, Vice President, Academia Sinica/ ICAS


Session I          Chairperson: Dr. Sunney I. Chan

9:30 – 10:15     Professor Murray Goodman, Department of Chemistry

         and Biochemistry, University of California at San Diego, USA

 New reactions, reagents, and structures for peptidomimetic drug design

10:15 – 10:30    Discussion


Session II         Chairperson: Dr. Chung-Ming Chang, Division of

        Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Research, NHRI

10:30 – 11:00     Professor Cherng-Chyi Tzeng, School of Chemistry,

Kaohsiung Medical University

  Synthesis, antibacterial, and cytotoxic evaluation of fluoroquinolones


11:00 – 11:35    Coffee Break and Group Photo Session


Session III       Chairperson: Professor Tahsin J. Chow, ICAS

11:40 – 12:25   Professor Jean-Francois Biellmann, University of Louis

           Pasteur, France/Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica

  Inhibitors of aldose reductase and their binding mode to this enzyme

12:25 – 12:40   Discussion


12:40 – 13:30   Lunch


Session IV       Chairperson: Dr. Sunney I. Chan

13:30 – 14:15     Professor Camille G. Wermuth, Faculty of Pharmacy,

University of Louis Pasteur University, France

The “SOSA” approach : An alternative to high-throughput screening

14:15 – 14:30    Discussion


Session V        Chairperson Dr. Jacqueline J. K. Whang-Peng,

Division of Cancer Research, NHRI

14:30 – 15:15   Professor Duy H. Hua, Department of Chemistry, Kansas

State University

Synthesis and bioactivity of tricyclic pyrones and novel triptycene analogs

15:15 – 15:30   Discussion


15:30 – 15:55   Coffee Break


Session VI       Chairperson: Professor Hsing-Jang Liu, ICAS/National

Tsing Hua University

16:00 – 16:30   Professor Ji-Wang Chern, School of Pharmacy,

National Taiwan University

Design and synthesis of potential agents for the treatment of benign prostate hypertrophy

16:30 – 17:00   Dr. Gholam Hossein Hakimelahi, ICAS

Synthesis of a novel uracil-containing enediyne as an anticancer agent


Session VII      Chairperson: Professor Chun-Chen Liao,

National Tsing Hua University

17:00 – 17:30   Dr. Chun-Cheng Lin, ICAS

Synthesis of sialo-conjugates and glycosidase inhibitors


Session VIII    Chairperson: Dr. Shang-Cheng Hung, ICAS

17:30 – 18:00   Professor Rueben Jih-Ru Hwu, ICAS /National Tsing

Hua University

Concluding Remarks